James Jennings’ weblog
Baroque violin and baby news!

Film star

My day as an extra for a film. I was looking at job formations at the ANPE when someone asked me if I was an actor. I had nothing else to do that afternoon so I said yes. I just had to get someone to babysit Gabriel.

At 3.30pm that afternoon I turned up at the address which was 5 minutes from our house. I was supposed to be a salesman in a top end shoe store. Seemed easy enough except that when there was only one line to read and I was supposed to improvise the dialogue on the telephone!

I started to get nervous when I was rehearsing with the stage guy and the other salesman. I thought about telling them I wasn’t really an actor! But that wasn’t an option so I managed to get through while the guy coached me on the other end of the line…

It lasted four hours and I have to say it was extremely badly paid but hey for my first acting job it was kind of funny to be on a television film…

No Responses to “Film star”

Leave a Reply

